This Might Make You Smile #1

Good morning, friends! It’s my sincere hope that you had a restful night’s sleep and that you woke up feeling well (or at least less awful than usual). I’m still working on today’s official post, but I’d like to take the opportunity this morning to introduce the debut of another new feature to my blog: This Might Make You Smile, or TiMMYS, as I like to call it, because acronyms are fun.

I can’t count the times I’ve been on the receiving end of well-meaning but idiotic advice like “Cheer up!” or “Smile; your face will freeze that way!”, and I’m not going to insult you by offering that same advice myself. Those of us who have experienced true depression know that sometimes smiling takes as much effort as lifting two cars and their drivers and that if “cheering up” was really that easy, then we’d already be doing it (seriously, DUH).

The point of TiMMYS is to share with you things I have found that made a subtle improvement in my mood. None of these things cured me; none of them gave me any sort of epiphany about the value of life or inspired me to overcome anything. They did, however, make me smile (and sometimes even laugh – today’s TiMMYS actually made me dance a little), and often that tiny change makes my suffering a tiny bit easier to bear. When you’re already carrying a five-ton elephant on your back, clipping its toenails may seem like an insignificant  difference, but if the bridge you’re trying to cross has a weight limit of 9,999 pounds, it can make all the difference in the world.

So without further ado, here is the very first TiMMYS, courtesy of my husband (how he finds these things, I will never know) – you’ll want to turn your computer speakers on to get the full effect.

This entry was posted in This Might Make You Smile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

